Home » Living History » Getting back to Blogging

Getting back to Blogging

You have probably noticed that I have been away for a while.  It has been for a good reason.  At the beginning of this year, I became a mother!  This new role has been the most challenging and rewarding assignment for me.  However, as much as I have been enjoying taking care of my little one and getting used to being a mother, my mind has never stopped thinking about my research.  I look forward to the day when I will be able to visit the archives, cemeteries, and local Family History Center to continue my research.

While pregnant, I wanted to do as much as I could to continue with my family research.  Around the end of October last year, my husband and I traveled to Washington, D.C. just so that I could visit NARA. I was 7 months pregnant with my little one. It may seem like a dull trip to most, but it was the most exciting thing that I had done to date, as it relates to my research.  I waddled from floor to floor (up and down on the elevator) with swollen feet and ankles, on a mission to get copies of the land records of my ancestors and relatives for two days.  In addition to visiting NARA, I searched for and ordered death certificates, ordered microfilm and searched for marriage records, read a lot of blogs, and attended every webinar that I could (I am still doing this).  I basically collected information and tried to increase my knowledge about genealogy and family history research, all while waiting for the opportunity to pick it up again.

Since giving birth to a little baby boy at the beginning of the year, my journey into motherhood has been adventurous, and is a lot to get used to.  I have been spending time learning how to be a mom, working my day job and trying to catch up and keep up with daily life at home.  For now, I am going to take it slow and write as much as I can, but I can’t wait to be able to sit down and analyze what I have collected so that I can tell you all about it.  Besides, I have someone to tell the stories to now and its even more important that I continue with my research. 🙂

~AmyC.

© 2015 Amy L. Cole and Tracing Amy: My Ancestral Journey.  All rights reserved.

7 thoughts on “Getting back to Blogging

  1. Congratulations on becoming a mom! Take it slow with things. It’s a lot to juggle work and a young baby. Absorb all those moments with your little one. Time goes by so fast.

Leave a Reply

